Widgets for RGB Strip

Hey guys!

I’ve recently gotten into electronics and programming, meaning I’m quite new to both. Nonetheless I made my first project this week where I’m using an esp8266 board to control an led strip with my phone. I heard about Blynk, and I’m loving it! At the moment I have this code, which allows me to use the zeRGBa widget:

#define BLYNK_PRINT Serial

#include <ESP8266WiFi.h>
#include <BlynkSimpleEsp8266.h>

char auth[] = "********************************";

char ssid[] = "**********";
char pass[] = "*********";

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);

Blynk.begin(auth, ssid, pass);
}

void loop()
{
  Blynk.run();
}

It’s incredibly simple, one of the examples, but it works and my focus was mostly on the electronics anyways. I do have two questions though, which would be great if someone could help me with:

1. I had a slider for brightness and an switch for on/off in mind. Is this possible? For the slider I’m not sure, but for the switch I don’t think it is: I can only enter one pin - not all three for r g b channels and cut power that way. Those pins are already in use for zeRGBa anyways… Of course the power for the RGB strip is also routed directly to 12v, since the esp8266 cannot output that.
    Is there a workaround or alternative method? This leads on to my next question:

2. When I searched the forums for a solution, I found “gunner” advertising his method and referring to the post below:
    [SOLVED] Widget Led represents actual led color

It seems really cool! However, I’m not too sure on how I’d incorporate the code into my sketch.
One thing I don’t understand is where to put what - the example tells me that there are two sections: the void setup which runs once and the void loop which runs twice. Do I keep these and put sections of the code gunner supplied underneath them, or do I get rid of them? I also need to add wifi and authentication token but I can do that above, correct?