NodeMCU battery voltage status

Hi, i drive my nodemcu with old gps battery (3.7v 1400 mAh) and i wanted to check my battery voltage via gauge.After some research i found a code and adapted to my sketch.Now it’s running like charm but it drains my battery so quickly.Can someone check my code what is wrong.I am not a coder that’s why i ask for your help guys.

#define BLYNK_PRINT Serial
#include <ESP8266WiFi.h>
#include <BlynkSimpleEsp8266.h>
#include <SimpleTimer.h>
#include <SPI.h>

char auth[] = "xxx";
char ssid[] = "xxx";
char pass[] = "xxx";
extern "C" {
  uint16 readvdd33(void);
}
SimpleTimer timer;

void myTimerEvent()
{
  Blynk.virtualWrite(V5, millis() / 1000);   // i really don't know what it is 
  Blynk.virtualWrite(V10,readvdd33());  // i read value from that virtual pin
}

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Blynk.begin(auth, ssid, pass);

timer.setInterval(60000L, myTimerEvent); // i set that value for 60 sec interval  
}

void loop()
{
  Blynk.run();
  timer.run(); 
}

As far as I can see, you are checking your battery every minute BUT, your NodeMCU is ALWAYS connected to the server and your battery goes down quickly.

Try to use Deep Sleep, this way, the NodeMCU maintains its RTC but shuts everything else off.

You can find more info HERE

Kind regards and good luck!!

You get accurate readings with this? The NodeMCU has an LM1117-3.3 regulator which means I always get a reading of 2.7v even when feeding it 3-6v.

Thank you for the tip,today im gonna try deep sleep :slight_smile::+1:

Yes i do,i think my board is chinese clone.I set the gauge value to 3700,because my battery 3.7. And i get accurate readings.

I like your comment.

millis() is a function that provides the milliseconds since your sketch started, ergo this line sends your device uptime, in seconds, to widget V5 (normally a Value Display widget).

As far as i understand it’s a good thing for to check how long can my battery last right?:grinning: