To Blynk or not to Blynk?

Perhaps there’s no simple answer but I’d like comments from the experts on whether to pursue my work with Blynk given that my only (to be fair limited) experience is with MicroPython and I am going to stick to it. I am a retired electronics engineer with a background in embedded systems development and I am working on projects that are fixed wing drone guidance and management oriented - the context.

I have had some difficulty pulling the information together which would allow me to get on line with Blynk (I think because I have not found any comprehensive MicroPython based guidance). My mp based code is working fine running on the ESP32 so I have a good handle on the i/o sensor/control aspects, alongside working WiFi connectivity.

This is not a critism as I appreciate strategies differ; but knowing how mainstream the Blynk team view MicroPython to be would help me with my strategic choices.

Best Regards,

Harry Wilson
France

I’m not speaking on behalf of Blynk here, I’m just a moderator on the forum, but I’ll share my thoughts…

Your problems getting online are probably because you’ve installed what is showing as the latest uP library from Github, but that’s actually the old library. The BlynkLib.py and associated files from here:

are the latest ones, but they’ve never been bundled into a proper release. You have to install the files manually to get them to work with Blynk IoT.

You should then see the version number as 1.0.0 rather than the old 0.2.0 release version.

C++ is the primary development language for Blynk, and the is is where the development effort is focussed. I see the uP and NodeJS libraries as hobby projects rather than the primary focus.
However, the library does work, and as the Blynk protocol is public knowledge it’s possible to fork that library and build on if if you wanted to.

Pete.

1 Like