Scrolling Text on SMD Matrix with Blynk?

Hi everyone!

I’ve been using blynk for a few months, and am interested in controlling a new type of light: a SMD Matrix, like this

I am using a Particle Boron as my board.

Is something like this possible with Blynk? In other softwares I’ve used, I would specify the # of pixels per row and pixel order, and it would map things… But am not sure if there is some equivalent way to do here? If not, how would I do it?

I have see Blynk tutorials for very small matrixes, but am interested in using this one, which as 2048 leds. Any advice is appreciated!

I’m guessing that you’re envisioning a system that allowed you to use the Blynk interface as a way of Turing the device on/off, maybe inputting text to be displayed, changing options like colour, speed, effects etc?

If so then you’re still going to be doing all of the hard work in your sketch, and adding additional code to capture and use the data that comes from the Blynk user interface.

If you have any code examples that allow these displays to work with hard-coded parameters for text, colour, speed, direction etc then these could form the basis of your Blynk code.
The usual caveats about keeping your void loop clean and avoiding blocking operations in your sketch apply of course.

Pete.

Thanks for your reply Peter!

100% correct for the goals of the control.

And ok, so I think you’re saying there is no built-in way to setup a matrix using Blynk, and I’d have to manually code it’s parameters… including layout.

If there is any recommended framework/libraries/tools to help with this matrix setup in Blynk, I’d love to know…

No, Blynk simply gives you widgets to allow values, text, RGB colours etc to be inputted via it’s user interface.