Problem with blynk app's virtual pin trying to control a digital pin in Arduino IDE

Hi all,
I am a newbie with using the Blynk app in conjunction with the Arduino IDE. The context of my question is based around the blynk app and the ESP8266 based Wemos D1 Mini board.

I am trying to control the board’s digital pin D2’s state using virtual pin V5 using the Button widget (button used in switch mode) in the Blynk app. I have an external LED connected to D2. Here is my sketch. The button presses get registered in the serial monitor since I have print statements for debug purposes. This means that the Virtual pin’s state data is getting transmitted from Blynk app to the Arduino Serial Monitor. However, digitalWrite to D2 is not happening. I do not see the LED glow.

What am I missing? I have attached below the sample sketch, the serial monitor output and a mapping between wemos d1 mini, blynk and ESP8266 pins (may not be useful for this question but just sticking it in there).

Is there a sensitivity to sequence of actions such as uploading sketch, opening blynk app, playing project or something along the lines? I just did the conventional way ie. upload sketch, open blynk app, open project, play the app, push the button, check for LED response.

To conclude, as an FYI, if I use the digital pin D2 directly from Blynk app to control the LED and just run the blynk server from the arduino sketch, then the LED seems to respond without issues. The issue shows up only when I use a virtual pin state to control a digital pin.

Arduino IDE Sketch:

#include <ESP8266WiFi.h>

#include <BlynkSimpleEsp8266.h>

// You should get Auth Token in the Blynk App.

// Go to the Project Settings (nut icon).

char auth[] = "XXX";

// Your WiFi credentials.
// Set password to "" for open networks.
char ssid[] = "YYY";
char pass[] = "ZZZ";

int LED = D2;
// Define LED as an Integer (whole numbers) and pin D8 on Wemos D1 Mini Pro

void setup()
{
  // Debug console
  Serial.begin(115200);