NodeMCU With Water Sensor

I’m using a NodeMCU Esp8266:
https://www.amazon.com/HiLetgo-Internet-Development-Wireless-Micropython/dp/B010N1SPRK/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?ie=UTF8&qid=1531152843&sr=8-1-spons&keywords=arduino%2Bwifi&th=1
connected to a water sensor:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N058HS6/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

My goal is to set up the NodeMCU with the blynk app so that when the water sensor does not sense water it sends a notification to my phone. I’m new to blynk and I’m not sure how to approach this. The water sensor is currently connected to the A0 pin.

1 Like

Basically, you just need to monitor the Analog pin (A0), and when it falls below a certain value send notification. You can do this with coding, or by loading the BASIC BLYNK sketch and using EVENTOR.

I suggest you do a little reading of the DOCS, and search a little around the forum. I don’t think anyone is going to write the code for you. Although there may be some code floating around here if you take a look.

If after that you get hung up, post what you have tried, and we will see if we can get you pointed back in the right direction.

1 Like

Okay, thanks.

I have looked around and I am trying to follow this tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=egGs_jSIKbc
How do I find out what type of sensor I have? In the tutorial she has a DHT11. How do I replace the code that has the defined pin?

Example Code: https://examples.blynk.cc/?board=NodeMCU&shield=ESP8266%20WiFi&example=More%2FDHT11

Note: I did not expect anyone to write the code for me, and I did try finding the answers to my questions.

The moisture sensor that you linked to outputs an analog value (0-1023) based on the amount of moisture it detects.

I would use THIS example.

And just change

Blynk.virtualWrite(V5, millis() / 1000);

to

Blynk.virtualWrite(V5, analogRead(A0) );

this will send the value of the sensor to Virtual pin 5.