Nodemcu whatsapp through blynk

Have anyone tried to control nodemcu gpios using whatsapp messages though blynk? Will it be possible? If it is, can anyone give me full details?
Thanks.

I think you’d need to use a WhatsApp API, possibly via IFTTT, to achieve this.
A quick search shows that IFTTT has some sort of WhatsApp integration, so that’s where I’d start.

Pete.

1 Like

Thanks for your reply.
But since I am very new to the software parts I have no idea of what you have said.
I am more of a hardware guy.
Can anyone give me full details of fulfilling this project?

If your very new to software I’d suggest you play with Blynk for a while before attempting this. Also watch some videos on IFTTT.

1 Like

After quickly looking at the IFTTT app, I’m not sure if WhatsApp messages are currently supported? Well I couldn’t find them anyway.

1 Like

If we need to go through another platform to send messages to and from whatsapp what’s the point of blynk? Whatsapp becomes the ui. Let’s face it, everyone has whatsapp on their devices and are loathe to install a new app on their phone just to occasionally monitor a temperature or turn a light on and off.

There’s no point whatsoever, if you’re satisfied with WhatsApp as your user interface. Simply send that data directly to WhatsApp from your hardware device and cut-out Blynk from the equation.
However, most people want to see more than just a message with some data values appearing in their WhatsApp datafeed, and would like to visualise that data in other ways and control devices via a mobile app, which is where Blynk comes in to its own.

If you don’t want/need to do that then go with the WhatsApp solution.

Pete.

Thanks for the quick reply, my application is very simple, if the temperature of the freezer goes above -3 degrees send a message to numerous people.
I see Blynk uses SMS but most people don’t use SMS anymore.