Need help to use 16 channel relays with esp8266 Node mcu and blynk app

Hello friends,
I’m trying to search the topics about to use 16 channel relays with NodeMcu and blynk.
But nothing to get my need, I am new to blynk and esp8266, I had experienced the blynk app use with 4 relays. It works!
Please suggest me the topic related to use 16 channel relays for home automation projects.
Thank’s,

You need to start using ESP32 if you need to control 16 relays. With ESP8266 you can control may be 10(max) because there are few pins which cannot be used as output.

Else you should use an IO expander to gain more pins and control it with I2C.

2 Likes

Obviously the NodeMCU doesn’t have 16 useable GPIO pins that you can use.
An ESP32 only really has 14 useable output GPIO’s, as some of the others go HIGH on boot-up, which may not be what you want when you have relays connected to them (depending on your relays and your project).

You could use two or more MCUs, which is fairly straight forward in Blynk - just add more devices to your project. When you add a control widget to your project you can assign which device it’s connected to, so a user of the interface won’t know that there are two devices being used. The only slight complication is if you want to have a widget which controls all of the relays. In this situation you’d need to use some Bridge code on one of your devices.

The other option is to use multiplexor hardware, or an I2C port extender based on something like the PCF8575 or MCP23017 chips.

I actually have some Open-Smart PCF8575 boards like this on their way via a slow boat from China:

When they arrive I’ll do some testing and share my results.

Pete.

3 Likes

Thanks Pete, I have PCF8575 Module Now its easy for me to search on youtube for Learning.

Thanks for help!

1 Like

Hello,