IOTstack - local blynk server running with Docker

For raspberry pi users, this is a project made by Graham Garner to run Blynk local, node red, mosquitto etc… under a docker stack. I’ve been using it for a few months and it really is excellent.

I asked for Blynk local server to be added, and it was. Does anyone fancy testing it out?

Full readme:

There’s a Blynk section with a setup guide from yours truly.

Any errors/improvements you find please let me know, here or on the github issues page.

2 Likes

I’ve been meaning to give the Docker thing a go since watching the video from “The guy with the Swiss accent”. I have an RPI 4 on order, as I thought I might as well start with the latest hardware/software combination, so this will be a good ‘lockdown project’.

I’ll let you know how I get on, assuming that my Pi 4 actually arrives anytime soon.

I also want to give PlatformIO a try, because I’m interested in the idea of inline debugging and have a JTAG adapter on order, so it looks like I’m going to be busy!

Pete.

1 Like

Hi @877, I have IOTstack setup running and I’m trying to get my head around how to add Docker containers that aren’t in Graham’s menu. As a result, I’m doing a bit of playing around and trying to see how things work, and may do a full clean re-install if I mess things up.

I had a quick look at Blynk server and it’s working for me, but I’d like to set-up data logging (or at least know how to do it for future use.
The Blynk server instructions are here:

I didn’t install the Postgres container initially, but can easily go back and do that at a later date (I think) as its in Graham’s menu.

The question is, do I simply set the two server property options to true and follow the rest of the instructions (minus the Postgres install bit), or is there more to it?

Pete.

Hi Pete,