Integrating ph and ORP sensors into Blynk

I’m relatively new to Arduino and even newer to Blynk but I have an interesting project that others in the community might find useful. I’m interested in creating a monitoring system for pool and spas. As any pool owner knows, this can be a tedious but necessary task. This has been done before but not with these new sensors and not with Blynk. http://openspamonitor.blogspot.com/

I’m proposing to use the new Atlas Scientific monitoring kits which handle much of the processing onboard and are I2C compatible.
http://www.atlas-scientific.com/kits.html

As I mentioned earlier, my best coding days may be behind me, but I am still pretty good with the hardware side. Any qualified person who is interested, I will loan you the hardware for the development portion of the project.

R

1 Like

Sounds like an interesting project. What’s the scale? How many devices/clients can be possibly connected?

I like finding projects which bring about a quick return and I can think of plenty of things I’d rather be doing than checking my pool chemicals. The hardware side will involve 3 sensors, pH, ORP (which is used to gauge chlorine levels), and temperature. On the hardware side, the sensors, arduino, and wifi connectivity will be in integrated into a ruggedized case, perhaps just a floating PVC pipe. Each 3 sensor kit will be standalone. For my case, I will double this for both a pool and spa.

Any interest?

Sounds like an interesting project. Is it for personal use or aimed for small businesses?

This is just for my personal use at the moment but I imagine it could be commercialized in some way. Could certainly generate some interest in Blynk as well.

Keep us posted! This could be a very cool case study and potential business as well.

Would it be possible to emulate the sensor values? That way it may be possible to build a system without the actual (really expensive) sensors. It could save a lot of time and postage :slight_smile: