How to modify default timeout and avoid WiFi disconnect

Hi Blynkers,

I used Blynk app and Arduino panel to control my garage door. It works magically.
However, sometimes my app disconnect with a “Exclamation mark” on app interface.
It happens like every week. Don’t really have a regular interval.
I need to manually cut off my panel’s power, reset the panel, and reset app. So it can connect again.
I doubt if it is due to my house’s unstable WiFi. Also, Blynk set its Default timeout in 30 seconds.

Leaned from the manual

Blynk.connect()

This functions will continue trying to connect to Blynk server. Returns true when connected, false if timeout have been reached. Default timeout is 30 seconds.

That is, my app will crash if my WiFi is out for more than 30 sec.

I’m a newbie for coding, so I would like to have your help to

1. Extend Default timeout to 5 mins?
  2. Create a loop to reconnect after timeout?

Not sure which way is easier/more efficient, cuz both are difficult for me…

Version -
Android 9 (2.20.709.2)
Blynk 2.27.21
NodeMCU Arduino 1.8.13

#define BLYNK_PRINT Serial
#include <ESP8266WiFi.h>
#include <BlynkSimpleEsp8266.h>

char auth[] = "+++++++++++++++";
char ssid[] = "++++++++";
char pass[] = "+++++++++";

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Blynk.begin(auth, ssid, pass);  
  pinMode(D0, OUTPUT);
}

void loop()
{
  Blynk.run();
}

Thanks in advance for your time and kindly help!
&
Happy New Year!!

Sue

1 Like

Simply resetting or power-cycling your NodeMCU should be sufficient. I’m not sure what you mean by “reset the app”.

I think you’re misunderstanding the documentation, and anyway, you aren’t using Blynk.connect in your sketch.

Blynk.begin (which is what you are using) is a blocking process. This means that the code execution will not progress beyond that point unless the Blynk.begin command can successfully connect to both the WiFi and Blynk server.