Flashing ESP8266 with Arduino Uno

Hey fellow Blynkers. By the way a huge shout out to the founders for this great software. I am a newbie with Blynk and Arduino in general. I have tried to follow the instructions given on this page: http://www.instructables.com/id/Connect-to-Blynk-using-ESP8266-as-Arduino-Uno-wifi/. While following the steps and trying to flash the ESP8266, I get this following message:
Ashwins-MacBook-Pro:esptool-master ashwinkumar94$ sudo ./esptool.py --port /dev/tty.usbmodemFA131 write_flash 0x00000 AT22SDK10020150320boot12.bin
Password:
Connecting…

A fatal error occurred: Failed to connect to ESP8266

My connections are correct, however I have read somewhere that the UNO might not be able to provide enough current to the ESP8266. Is this giving me the problem? Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you!!

Possibly yes. I’d recommend a decent external power supply and a little capacitor across the lines to keep it powered correctly.

You may want to invest a decent usb-to-serial device for this sort of things though. It may work with an UNO, but a ftdi chip on your USB port is probably more stable.

Is there any schematic so that I can use it as a guide?

No, not really, the Internet is full of stuff about this subject.

The first question of the day is, do you have an ESP at 5v or 3.3v? That makes a difference. You should regulate your ESP with the correct voltage. Placing the capacitor is not difficult, the only thing you need to be VERY aware of is the fact that a capacitor has polarity. That means that you should have the - on ground and the +, well, on plus.

*** If you don’t to that it can explode! ***

You can just put the capacitor directly to the + and - of your ESP, it will act as a sort of short-term battery so there is always an ampel power supply to your ESP.

I found this for you: http://yaab-arduino.blogspot.nl/2015/03/esp8266-wiring-schemas.html :slight_smile: