Error compiling ESP8266_Shield with Arduino IDE

Hello,
I am new to Blynk. I have a generic ESP8266 ESP-01 board and want to try using it with Blynk. I downloaded the Arduino IDE, and the latest Blynk libraries according the the tutorial here: [Hackster][1]

I included the .zip libraries, reloaded the IDE and loaded the ESP8266_Shield example. However, when I try to compile it, this is the error I am getting:

:0:9: error: expected identifier before numeric constant
C:\Users\username\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ITEADLIB_Arduino_WeeESP8266-master/ESP8266.h:46:7: note: in expansion of macro ‘ESP8266’
class ESP8266 {
^
:0:9: error: expected unqualified-id before numeric constant
C:\Users\username\Documents\Arduino\libraries\ITEADLIB_Arduino_WeeESP8266-master/ESP8266.h:46:7: note: in expansion of macro ‘ESP8266’
class ESP8266 {
^
Error compiling.

I haven’t modified any files. Could someone explain why this is? I tried commenting the #define lines and replacing the occurences with the hard values, but the error remains.

Arduino IDE: v1.6.5, Windows 7 64-bit.

Thank you.
[1]: https://www.hackster.io/nolan-mathews/connect-to-blynk-using-esp8266-as-arduino-uno-wifi-shield-m1?f=1#

Hi, welcome to the community.
Have you read all the forum posts on this question? There are many similar topics - please re-check.

Hi @Pavel
Yes I read some of the posts here:
post 1
post 2
post 3

but I didn’t find any mention to the specific problem I’m having. I do have the modified lbrary. ESP8266_Standalone is compiling fine. Can you give me any pointers if you’ve seen this problem before?

Yiu must have forgotten to pick the right board type in the IDE… :wink:

Ok I finally got the “standalone” to work. I am not using any arduino board as a MITM. I’m directly using the ESP-01 connected thru a FTDI cable to my laptop.