EEPROM and Blynk Slider

Hi guys, I’m relatively new to arduino and programming, I’m trying to develop some sort of relay-based thermostat with blynk. It’s been a couple of days I am dealing with this issue: I’m trying to memorize on the EEPROM the value of the slider, the same value is printed on a value-display (widget).

the code I’ve been using is this one:

BLYNK_WRITE(V16) // Slider control 
{
 int destemp = param.asInt(); // assigning incoming value from pin V16 to a variable
 Blynk.virtualWrite(V17, destemp); // print on value-display
 EEPROM.write(0, highByte(destemp)); //write the first half on eeprom slot0
 EEPROM.write(1, lowByte(destemp)); //write the second half on eeprom slot1
}

The void function “bot” do all the job:

void bot(boolean vacexp, boolean heatexp, int margh)
{
  float h = dht.readHumidity();
  float t = dht.readTemperature();
  byte high = EEPROM.read(0); //read the first half
  byte low = EEPROM.read(1); //read the second half
  int destemp = high + low; // desired temperature

heatxp is a boolean variable connected to a button to manually activate the heater.

if(destemp > t && heatexp==false && digitalRead(D4) != LOW)
  {
      digitalWrite(D4, LOW);
  }
  else if(destemp < t + margh && heatexp==false && digitalRead(D4) != HIGH)
  {
     digitalWrite(D4, HIGH);
  }
}

The function “bot” is then called in void loop.

The problem is that if I set the temperature, the relay doesn’t turn on, it seems like destemp value is not being read from the eeprom. any advices?

Sections of code do not give us enough idea of the program flow. Post the whole sketch please.

sure, here you go !

#define BLYNK_PRINT Serial

#include <ESP8266WiFi.h>
#include <BlynkSimpleEsp8266.h>
#include <SimpleTimer.h>
#include <DHT.h>
#include <EEPROM.h>

char auth[] = "";

char ssid[] = "Informasistemi";
char pass[] = "";

#define DHTPIN D2       
#define DHTTYPE DHT11     // DHT 11

DHT dht(DHTPIN, DHTTYPE);
SimpleTimer timer;
boolean vacexp;
boolean heatexp;