Ds18b20 temp sensor and new Blynk

Hi all!

I am totally new to home automation and everything related to it.
I want to link the esp8266 with the ds18b20 and have alerts, which has been done in the past. Could I still use the code of the ‘older’ version of blynk?

If not, does anyone have some sample code for this?

If you mean Notifications or emails then these work differently in Blynk 2.0, so some re-working would be needed.
Also, if the examples use the Tome Input widget for scheduling then this is done differently in Blynk 2.0

In addition, there is extra setup required in the web portal of Blynk 2.0 to create the template and data streams.

Pete.

So in general, I should start from scratch?

Will wait if someone hopefully does this for the ds18b20 :wink:

No, that’s not what I said.

You could be waiting some time!
Also, it will be much more difficult to share the entire setup from Blynk 2.0, with no app cloning and the need to document all the template and datastream setup as well as the app setup (and web dashboard setup if used).

Pete.

hmm, yeah, problem is I got no coding experience at all…
Will give it a try. I’m now going through the getting started and did the provisioning.

Hmmm, not sure that I’d use the Edgent provisioning then try to add a Blynk 0.1 sketch into the Edgent sketch.

Pete.

I won’t use an 0.1 sketch :slight_smile: will try to go from the start and import some pieces of the old one :slight_smile:

I think I can use this as a start. Then, need to implement Blynk and find a way to push it using blink like Blynk.writevirtualpin but that will be in the docs of Blynk.

#include <OneWire.h>
#include <DallasTemperature.h>
#define ONE_WIRE_BUS 2 // DS18B20 on NodeMCU pin D4 
OneWire oneWire(ONE_WIRE_BUS);
DallasTemperature DS18B20(&oneWire);

void setup() 
{
  Serial.begin(115200);
  DS18B20.begin();
  Serial.println("Testing Dual Sensor data");
}

void loop() {
  float temp_0;
  float temp_1;
  DS18B20.requestTemperatures();