Does if(Blynk.connected()) cause a signifiant delay in a loop function?

I am a noob programmer. I found the magic of programming only in the third year of university when I discovered Arduino. Ever since I learn from examples, so I don’t have a deep understanding of programming.

I am trying to understand how these things are working…

What is exactly happening when checking:

if(Blynk.connected()){
}

Does it run a function that returns a boolean or it just checks the result of that function that runs only limited times in a period of time? Where I can find that function?

If that function is actually running every single time, then how does it check the connection? does it ping the server?

what about:

if (WiFi.status() != WL_CONNECTED)

Thank you!

The C++ Blynk library is talking to the server all the time. This includes pings to check that the server is still visible to the device.
The Blynk.connected internal function call returns a Boolean that indicates if - at the point when it is called - the device is connected to the server.

The WIFi.status function call does a very similar thing, it checks if the Wi-Fi library is connected or not, but as you can see, the value returned is not a Boolean.
The WiFi library isn’t unique to Blynk, it’s well documented if you google it.

Pete.

Your relative answer somehow made me think about the heartbeat setting used in some of my projects, without actually understanding it.

So the connection is monitored using a heartbeat mechanism. It is checking every 10 seconds by default + another 5 seconds if it does not get the answer (the documentation says). But all this is happening with every Blynk.run() ? or every Blynk.command?

I think I managed to measure how long does it takes for the commands specified on my previous message to run:

The following command takes about 1 microsecond or less:

if(Blynk.connected()){
}

The following commandit takes about 55 microseconds:

if (WiFi.status() != WL_CONNECTED)