Connecting issues with SIM900 + Mega 2560

Hi - I’m new to everything here, but I spent a long time trying to work everything out myself and reading as much as I could find before asking here.

I have a SIM900 shield connected to an Arduino Mega 2560 (properly), and a functional SIM card with credit and no SIM lock. Latest libraries installed.

I used the example TinyGSM_SIM800_SIM900 script from the Blynk > Boards_GSM folder - code included below.

I get a continuous message like this:

Connecting to blynk-cloud.com:80

I’ve seen others with the issue and tried their fixes but nothing worked.

I found multiple APN options from this SIM provider (Telcel, Mexico) on these two sites: 1, 2. I tried every password and variation, none seemed to work.

Auth code is correct too (though I haven’t even managed to connect to it yet).

I’m hoping someone will spot something obviously wrong with my code - it’s very frustrating and I’ve exhausted myself trying to work it out :triumph:

#define BLYNK_PRINT Serial

#define TINY_GSM_MODEM_SIM900

#include <TinyGsmClient.h>
#include <BlynkSimpleTinyGSM.h>

char auth[] = "caa13264af8b49ba947d8f9bf3d52460";

char apn[]  = "internet.itelcel.com";
char user[] = "webgprs";
char pass[] = "webgprs2003";

#define SerialAT Serial1

TinyGsm modem(SerialAT);

void setup()
{
  // Debug console
  Serial.begin(115200);

delay(10);

// Set GSM module baud rate
  SerialAT.begin(115200);
  delay(3000);

Serial.println("Initializing modem...");
  modem.restart();

Blynk.begin(auth, modem, apn, user, pass);
}

void loop()
{
  Blynk.run();
}

Hi. Try to set time and baud rate on your SIM900. You may do that by following simple code with some of AT-commands:

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
SoftwareSerial mySerial(50,51); //TX, RX (or if it does not work, change them rx tx)
void setup()
{
  mySerial.begin(9600);                 
  Serial.begin(9600);                 
}
void loop()
{
  if (mySerial.available())
    Serial.write(mySerial.read());