Completely unattended local Blynk-Server setup

hi, i created this script to allow a completely unattended Blynk-Server setup on any Raspberry PI, and i tested it even on an Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial virtual machine… any hint to add more stuff is welcome, thanks
please read comments in there, too…

5 Likes

Well my RPi crashed from some form of data corruption again… it wasn’t running as a server, just a client, but I have been contemplating doing so (installing Blink Server) just to experiment with a 2nd server…

So, as a relative RPi noob, I am guessing that after I reload Raspbian on my SD card and setup the RPi, as normal for my network, Then I simply open up a terminal window and copy/paste this script into the CLI… Or is there more to it?

No, you download the script chmod +x scriptname.sh and do ./scriptname.sh to execute it

@fragolinux
Maybe you could combine this with my startup and update scripts for Unix?

Made a quick git repo: https://github.com/WhizzCat/blynk_scripts

Ok, I’ll take a look when back home…
Other way to run script:
bash script.sh

And another:

sh rb (for a Pi reboot script)
sh sd (for a Pi shutdown script)

Even though the convention is to have a .sh file extension it’s not needed and if you are accessing the Pi via SSH from a Smartphone with a small virtual keyboard you want the command to be as short as possible :slight_smile:

Well, thank Heavens that is all cleared up for this poor Linux noob :confused:

So, I create a file with my favorite text editor NANO, copy paste all that stuff above into it, save it with a name that makes sense to me… like CULBSS.sh :wink: and then I can simply run it in one of about a million & 1/2 ways… e.g. sh CULBSS

Then sit back and watch another season of The Flash while this effortlessly installs my new Local Server. Almost too simple to mention :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

1 Like

We serve to please :wink:

Fail.

You have to name the script CULBSS not CULBSS.sh for this to work.

1 Like