Blynk stopwatch

Hello,
I am an absolute beginner and don’t know how or where to start at my project. I want to make a stopwatch on the blynk app using an external push button.
Can somebody help me wit this?

Blynk may not be the ideal system, although it depends on what sort of accuracy and functionality you’re looking for.

If you want to see elapsed time in the app in real time, and with some degree of accuracy, then the latency of communication via the internet to the Blynk server and then on to the app will make the project inaccurate.

If however you want to start and stop a timer using a physical button, then report the elapsed time to the app then it could be done.

I think you’d need to elaborate on the required functionality and on the type of hardware and connection type you are thinking of using.

Pete.

Hello ,
I think it is not really necessary to see the elapsed time. Only the time where it ends is necesarry. And i indeed want to start and stop with a physical button.
What do you think i should do/learn first to begin this project?

Take a look at one of the sketch builder examples.

This one shows you how to check to see when a button has been pressed:

And this one shows how to send the current millis() value to Blynk:

Millis() is the number of milliseconds since the MCU booted-up, and it increments automatically. You can’t reset it (unless you reboot the device) and it continues to 7ncrement until the number gets to big to hold in a floating point variable, at which point it resets to zero. This happens after around 49.7 days.

You will need to grab the current millis Reading when the button is pressed, and again after it is pressed the second time. Subtracting one from the other will give you the time in milliseconds between the two button presses. You can then push this value out to Blynk.

Decide what hardware you’re using, and how it will connect to the internet, then have a go at combining the two sets of code and see how you get on.

Pete.