Blynk.connected() is not reliable

I have a Pro subscription, and using an Adafruit HUZZAH32 Feather card. I’m also using Visual Code, PlatformIO with the Arduino framework.

I have converted two major projects from Blynk Legacy to Blynk IoT and have learned a lot. This two Blynk platforms are very different yet got much in common regarding the coding. I have spent hour after hours to make my code stable and bug-free, but I have discovered some things on my way. One of the most critical experience is that one can not trust Blynk.connected()! I have added some of my code in this message, and have done a lots of tests to confirm this issue. I’m using FreeRTOS quite extensively a have a own task just to handle Blynk.run(). The problem is that Blynk.connected() returns true but there is no WiFi. The reason I can claim this is because WiFi.RSSI() returns 0. My device is also running a small web-server which is unavailable when the WiFi fails. Even my WiFi-router is not abel to detect the device as online. But Blynk.connected() keep returning true. I’m also using ElegantOTA (I know that Blynk got an OTA, but haven’t tested it yet) and WebSerial. Could this cause the problem?

Nevertheless, the solution for me has been to run a ping() (ESP32Ping) check every minute to the local gateway (very often 192.168.10.1), and to call ESP.restart() if the ping fails.