Auth Token Questions - Blynk IoT

I am having trouble migrating to Blynk 2.0. I have been using Blynk Legacy for 4 years and had no trouble at all. Now I need to migrate to 2.0 and I’m having all kinds of problems- mainly with the auth token. Some people said that the auth token is related to the Legacy app but I am still being asked to enter it and the one I enter is always wrong. I am using an ESP8266 and when I go to its hotspot I must enter an auth token or it will not proceed. Most of the time I do not have an auth token. Does Blynk 2.0 require one or what ?

At one point I had a basic communication from a sensor on the ESP to a gauge on the web dashboard working. But it did not work on the mobile app - the device was not in the list so I could not select it. I fiddled with some settings and then everything broke and I could no longer enter credentials into the board’s hotspot.

Also- I couldn’t see how to post to a topic- here I am replying to your message- I couldn’t see how to post a new message to the topic.
Thanks
Mike

The advantage of creating a new topic, and selecting the “Need help with my project” category is that it prompts you to provide some basic information, which is helpful to us.

As you haven’t done that’ I’ll ask for some of it here:

1. What Blynk library version are you using?
  2. Exactly what hardware are you using?
  3. What sketch are you using? When you post your sketch to the forum please put triple backticks, on a line of their own, at the beginning and end of your sketch.
    Triple backticks look like this:
    ````
    Please copy and past them if necessary

I would also suggest that you post your serial output. When you do this please dont post screenshots. Instead copy the text from your serial monitor ad paste it here, but once again, add triple backticks so that it displays correctly.

Information about what you’ve done regarding the creation of templates, and devices based on those templates would also be useful.

Pete.