What's up with the documentation?

I am working on my first Blynk project and trying to find documentation of the features. Very specifically I was trying to make a button in Blynk turn the LED on/off on my Sparkfun ESP8266.

So I go here:
http://docs.blynk.cc/#widgets-controllers-button

and it references the sketch @ https://github.com/blynkkk/blynk-library/blob/master/examples/GettingStarted/BlynkBlink/BlynkBlink.ino

There are several other items that reference the same sketch. Button, Slider, Value Displays, Gauge, and Graph.

I’m no expert at programming Arduino, but looking at the code in the sketch I cannot see how this sketch does anything. What am I missing?

For the lazy, this is the sketch:

#define BLYNK_PRINT Serial // Enables Serial Monitor
#include <SPI.h>
#include <Ethernet.h>
#include <BlynkSimpleEthernet.h> // This part is for Ethernet stuff

char auth[] = "YourAuthToken"; // Put your Auth Token here. (see Step 3 above)

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600); // See the connection status in Serial Monitor
  Blynk.begin(auth);  // Here your Arduino connects to the Blynk Cloud.
}

void loop()
{
  Blynk.run(); // All the Blynk Magic happens here...

// You can inject your own code or combine it with other sketches.
  // Check other examples on how to communicate with Blynk. Remember
  // to avoid delay() function!
}

Nothing. This is it. It will connect to the Cloud server and you can control all your Pins from your dashboard. Nothing else is needed for basic control of Pins.

The Blynk app and the Blynk server performs the magic so you don’t have to.

1 Like

I posted the same question on github, and this is the response I was given is below.