Wemos goes offline after rawIR is sent

Hello everybody,

This is my first topic and I’m new to the Blynk Community. Lately, I’ve been testing around with the combination of Blynk and IRremote on my Wemos D1 Mini Lite. My goal is to make a digital remote for my devices using the code below. However, somehow when I press a button in the app to send the raw IR command the device goes offline and needs to reconnect to the internet. I’ve been trying to use other forms but couldn’t find a solution and therefore hoped someone could help me in the right direction.

Kind regards,

Guido

#define BLYNK_PRINT Serial
#include <ESP8266WiFi.h>
#include <BlynkSimpleEsp8266.h>
#include <IRremoteESP8266.h>
#include <IRsend.h>

uint16_t X_vdown[24]={1000,600, 600,1150, 500,650, 550,850, 600,1150, 600,550, 500,650, 550,1500, 600,1400, 600,550, 600,850, 550};  

#define IR_SEND_PIN D2

IRsend irsend(IR_SEND_PIN);

char auth[] = " ";
char ssid[] = " ";
char pass[] = " ";

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  irsend.begin();

Blynk.begin(auth, ssid, pass);
}

BLYNK_WRITE(V9)
{
  if(param.asInt()){
    irsend.sendRaw(X_vdown, 68, 38); 
  }  
}

void loop()
{
  Blynk.run();
}

1 Like

How long does it take for the IR send routine to complete?
Maybe add some serial print messages with the current millis value just before and after the IR send command to figure out the answer to that question.

If it’s too long then that will be why Blynk is timing out. I wouldn’t have expected that to be the cause of the problem, but it’s a good place to start.

Also, have you tried using a different pin for the IR LED?

Pete.

I’ve been testing a little with your surgestions, it takes on average about 649515 micro seconds to run the IR raw command, I’ve no idea whether this is too long for the Blynk timing or not. However, something strange did happen, I was able to run the virtual pin a few times before the device went offline.

Unfortunately using other ports resulted in the same problem.

Guido