[SOLVED] Timer does not work with ESP8266 stand alone

Hello,
I am very new at this but very interested . Hardware is usual no problem but writing the software is new for me .
I am experimenting with a ESP8266(dev board) stand alone and I am able to create buttons on the Blynk app . they work like they should but now I am trying to create a timer but when I test this it wont work . I tried several digital pins but nothing happens on the esp ( the buttons always kep working) . I am sure the app is in play mode and not in edit mode .Any ideas ?

1 Like

Not sure the problem is isolated to ESP8266 standalone. Noticed odd timer behaviour in the last 24 hours on different systems. Sometimes when I change the time on the timer it tries to connect to the server and then reverts back to a previous timer setting. After several attempts the time can normally be changed but previously it changed 100% of the time. On an Uno with ESP8266 I noticed yesterday the timer wasn’t activating, thought it might be a problem with my code.
Reverted to an Uno with USB that was working fine last week and the timer is now being ignored.

Maybe the developers have changed something?

@jes2983 hello. Do you mean Timer Widget?

@Costas I fixed a bug in timer. Bug was on server side. Timer scheduler was ignoring hardware token so was sending notif to all hardware of user. Now it is fixed. And only hardware with token connected to specific project with timer will be triggered. Could it be your case?

@Dmitriy not quite sure I follow your comment but in the last 30 minutes the ability to change the time in the widget seems to be back to working ok. Will check if the timer actually fires and let you know in a minute or two.

@Dmitriy Timer still not activating at requested time and the Arduino has the correct (internet) time.

Are you sure your hardware has token of project with timer? iOS, Android?