Noob: howto count responses from app?

Hi,
Im really new at this so bear with me. I made my first Blynk app, the turn LED on/off.
it only has blynk.begin() and blynk.run() and it works
No w i want to be able to count how many times the button has been used (the light has been turned on).
Now how would i get this in my Arduino sketch? i don’t see how to get an ‘event’ or such form blynk.run().
tnx
RDG

1 Like

You have to set a counter and have it count each time the button/pin is HIGH and/or LOW. May I inquire as what you are trying to accomplish? Just curious :slight_smile:

I’m setting my first steps into the IoT playground:) the whole project is much bigger (i’m trying to make a remote controlled chicken feeder so my parents can stay a little longer with the kids when they are here, so they don’t have to go home to feed the chickens).
Anyway, my question is how would i write that counter in my sketch? how can i ‘read’ what has been send from the app to the arduino? my sketch is real skeleton and i don’t yet know how to get more data from Blynk?
void setup()
{
Serial.begin(9600);
Blynk.begin(auth, “mywifi”, “mypassword”, WLAN_SEC_WPA2);
}

void loop()
   {
    Blynk.run();
}

tnx
RDG

This is nice, a colleague of mine is doing something similar :wink:

Anyway, I can see why you probably want to count stuff, but are you sure that is the best solution? There are probably ways to achieve this without relying on counters.

int counter = 0; // Set counter to 0

// This here activates a button attached to Virtual Pin 1 on your dashboard
BLYNK_WRITE(V0)
{
  // Insert stuff here to have them feed the chickens, motor, relay, whatever you want

// This will increase the counter with 1 step, you can use it anywhere throughout your program because it's declared Global (outside of a function, wether it be setup, loop or something you made)
  count++;
}

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Blynk.begin(auth, "mywifi", "mypassword", WLAN_SEC_WPA2); 
}

void loop()
{