Network shield recommendation

I’m a newbie having great initial success with blynk and mega 2560, but my project is stuck because of problems with the CC3000 wifi shield I’m using. As others here have complained, the CC3000 keeps losing the connection randomly. I’ve upgraded the firmware, as others have suggested, but still no luck - it still drops the connection at random intervals. I’m thinking to switch to a different shield that is more stable - wired ethernet would be fine. Does anybody have a recommendation? It should be: 1) compatible with blynk, 2) compatible with mega 2560, 3) sufficient info available on it that a newbie like me can get it to work. I bought a Seeed Ethernet Shield V2.0 today from Radio Shack, and could not even get it to read from a web site, which I had no trouble doing with the CC3000. I am probably doing something wrong, but I couldn’t find much info about that shield on the web, and I’m too inexperienced to know how to fix the problem myself. Any suggestions for a different shield or a solution to either the Seeed or CC3000 would be appreciated. My project was very far along, but it’s useless if it can’t stay connected.

Dear @mnw

I use the standard Arduino WiFi shield https://www.arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoWiFiShield101 connected to the UNO board but it also works with the Mega board.

Blynk has been up and running uninterrupted for several weeks now, monitoring parameters in my kitchen garden and reporting data to the App.
Another shield is in my living room with an IR emitter controlling devices, so in this case the App is sending parameters to the hardware. Both systems are very stable with Blynk.