Most economical board

Hello all,

I am attempting to use blynk in combination with a mini board to toggle multi channel relays via Bluetooth/WiFi connectivity. This will hopefully turn on/off a few motors and led lighting with a few sensors and sounds. Just tried RPi zero w but ran into a few road blocks as there is no Bluetooth support for those devices. What is the most economical and time friendly hardware device that you guys have experience with. Thank you. You are life savers

https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/V3-4-M-bytes-32-Mbits-FLASH-Lua-NodeMcu-placa-de-desarrollo-de-Redes-WIFI-Basado/32711244582.html?spm=2114.13010608.0.0.c3S3VZ
Most people like the esp8266 because is great an cheap.

2 Likes

Watch out for boards with the ESP32 chipset (e.g. the Wemos LOLIN32 breakout). They come with
Bluetooth, BLE, Wifi plus a LiPo interface :slight_smile:

This is my first project of this type using boards like these. I’d like to utilize Bluetooth over WiFi with access to both.

The ESP32 could be a good option BUT, at the moment the board is not very friendly… for example analogWrite is not implemented and for me it’s really painful…
Read carefully what you can/can’t do before buying this kind of boards or you will be disapointed…

The WeMos mini D1 is really a good option.
HTH

1 Like

Can’t go wrong with an esp8266 they almost free :stuck_out_tongue:

Cant beat free haha, I see the 8266 is WiFi only. Do you have experience with a Bluetooth addon that works with blynk + esp8266 in tandem

I’d like to have toggle features for a multi channel relay with sensors, physical toggles, and blynk remote app switches. prioritizing Bluetooth over WiFi connectivity with access to both.

Thank you

Your current Blynk options are:

App ← BT/BLE (direct link) → Hardware (App still needs internet for account login)

Or…

App ← WiFi/internet/network → Server (Cloud or Local) ← WiFi/internet/network → Hardware

Not both.