Google Sheets scripts (just starting)

Hello –
Am just starting the research on this. I want to collect some data with a standalone module and routinely upload data to a google docs sheet.
If anyone here is doing similar work and can offer any advice, that would be much appreciated.
Thank you.

I have spent the last few weeks trying to find a solution to this very issue. I was hoping to find a solution that would both update data and send me a message when certain conditions are met. Without getting in to a lengthy post, I can tell you I looked at using thingspeak, temboo and google big query. Please keep in mind that I am not a programmer and until last year around this time, I had never written a line of code.

Temboo allows 250 calls per month and (i think) 1gb of data transfer per month with a free account. They have great tech support. I have one project that the 250 calls is not an issue. My new project it might be. Their “choreos” will not allow you to sream data but rather append rows or columns and such. https://www.temboo.com/library/Library/Google/Spreadsheets/

I did not have good luck with thingspeak. I tried to use some of their examples and never got them to work. I sent several requests for help and never heard back from them. They also offer twitter or twilio as messaging solutions. Same thing, either limits or pay for the service. Their apps are located here
https://thingspeak.com/apps
I did not find a way to send data to a spreadsheet. They are more interested in graphs.

Google Big Query was confusing (to me) for setting up. I did get it to work but it involves a lot of set up. Did I mention confusing? It is also strictly a paid service with a 60 day trial.