esp8266 standalone and local server - cant connect

Hi,

This is my first attempt to use an ESP8266. I have the ESP-12E module and have successfully loaded the Standalone example sketch on to it. I can see it is a client on my local wifi router but it does not seem to connect to the Blynk local server that I have running on a Raspberry Pi.

The arduino IDE serial monitor shows "Connecting to Palmbye’ (Note- Palmbye is the name of my local network) but that is all that happens. I have the correct token that is generated by my local server in the sketch and I do this for starting Blynk in the sketch—>
Blynk.begin(auth,"Palmbye","MyWIFIPassword",IPAddress(192,168,0,201));

Any ideas on what I am missing, I have searched for several hours but am at a dead end right now. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hello. Was you able to connect to Blynk cloud with your ESP?

I have not tried connecting to the Blynk Cloud. Could it be a problem with my local server not supporting the ESP?
I have not updated my local server for a few months

U[quote=“NickMurray, post:3, topic:3833”]
I have not tried connecting to the Blynk Cloud. Could it be a problem with my local server not supporting the ESP?
[/quote]

Well. It shouldn’t, but it could be. I can’t give you exactly answer as I never run old versions of servers with new Apps and new libraries.

Sure, That’s fair enough. To be honest I have been putting off updating the Local server because I am unsure about how to go about it. I have existing projects running on my current local server that I would like to keep. Is there any instruction on how to update the local server without losing currently running projects?

edit---- I see there is a some information on it here

Usually when you go from one update to another your projects will be fine. For now we you have 2 options :

• Do not update apps, libs, server and keep everything as it is;
  • Update server, apps, libs every time or once a 1 month for instance;