Creating subloops in Blynk code, ESP8266

Hello Guys,

I am fairly new to ESP and Blynk, but not new to Arduino, and I have a serious problem in implementing my project. I am using the Blynk server and ESP8266 12E board.
The ESP based module has to communicate with some other borads over simple 433MHz transciever, the cheep chinese type.
I have found out that ~ 1k bps is not a problem for my Atmeg328 based boards, but I can’t find a way to implement it on the ESP, I am getting over 3ms looptime at idle, and it can go up to 300ms when receiving data from the web.
To not mess up my whole structure, I would need to run my output handling routine in every 50-100us when transmitting, and every 1ms when receiving. Both is rather simple code, as I said, 16MHz Atmega is fine with maintaining the 1kbps bitrate.

I am totally out of ideas by now, do you have any ideas except for changing the wireless module?

The problem is no doubt caused by the Blink routine that has to constantly communicate with the Blynk server to do the Blynk “magic”.

The normal way to get all your boards talking to each other would be to use ESP boards that are are all connected to your Wi-Fi system and each talk separately to the Blynk server. Each device would have it’s own Blynk Auth code, but be part of the same Blynk Project. The data from the server can then be accessed by one ‘master’ device using Bridge to link the separate Auth codes together.

An alternative is to still have each device connected to your Wi-Fi but use MQTT messaging to transfer data between devices. This can either be by using an ESP as the MQTT server, or using a Raspberry Pi - in which case you’d go down the Node-Red route to manage the flow of data between the ESP devices and Blynk.

I’m guessing that you don’t want to go down that route, either because you’d have to replace multiple devices or because some of those devices are out of Wi-Fi range (or both)?