Completely lost

Near the end of last year, I was able to get an ESP8266 up and running using the old Blynk app and some code that someone else wrote. Worked just fine.

I am new to all of this ESP stuff. I have worked with Arduino and Raspberry Pi, but not ESP.

Then I realize that the original app will not longer be supported and that my working program would soon fail to work. So, I decided to try the Blynk supplied code on this website to connect to my 8266 and move my code and device to the new system. AND…Nothing!!!
I tried getting a new ESP32 to see if that would be better. NOPE! Still nothing!
The 8266 setup via the new app doesn’t work!
I can’t see the device in the WiFi app as directed.
The COM port changes based on either the 8266 (port 3) the 32 (port 6) being uploaded to.

How does anyone even attempt to use this environment? This is really putting me off to the new Blynk as it seems nearly impossible to make work.

Can anyone give me some insight here?
Any suggestions on which boards to get specifically? more specifically from Amazon? SparkFun?

Thanks,
Gary

ESP8266’s and ESP32’s work fine with new Blynk, including the Edgent sketch and it’s dynamic provisioning via the app.

If you have the working Legacy sketch written by someone else then that’s probably the best place to start. It may need as little as three lines of code adding to it to make it work with Blynk IoT.

However, if you want assistance with that from the forum then you need to stay focussed on one sketch, one board and one approach. If you start jumping around from one type of device to another, and swapping to the Edgent approach and back again then you’ll quickly confuse the people who are trying to assist you, along with confusing yourself even more.

Pete.