Avoid the Void (or how I learned to love the timer)

Hi.

I’m fairly new to Blynk so, please bear with me.

I have read in various places that I should avoid placing other things in the Loop Void,
Is this a hard and fast rule? I have lots of other code that I need to execute before Blynk does it’s job.
Is there a way around this at all?
I’ll be using an Arduino or ESP8266 by the way.

Thank you.

As a general rule it is best to keep the loop() as clear as possible. Usually only including the BLYNK and TIMER calls. I have seen and heard of others putting things in the loop(), besides those two things, and getting things to work. Personally I do not, and haven’t run into a situation where it was necessary (yet). To keep the loop() clear the use of SimpleTimer becomes necessary. I also suspect that with SimpleTimer, and the use of the BLYNK Configuration, and Connection Management commands you could accomplish what you are after. That is, execute some code before connecting to BLYNK.

1 Like

Not for advanced users.
The main thing you want to avoid is sending thousands of Blynk.virtualWrite() per second (the cloud limit is 100 per sec from memory).
So you can happily run loops that involve no virtual writes (whether directly triggered or triggered by interrupt).
You can also use virtual writes in the loop as long as you code a flag to send it once, then reset aftet X seconds.

The only hard and fast rule is:
Avoid looping blynk commands and you will be fine.

The purpose of keeping the void loop() relatively clear is the same reason for also keeping any other function loop free of delays and/or endless looping… because Blynk needs to be constantly “kept in the loop” so to speak via the Blynk.run() command.