[Solved] Raspberry Pi Model B P5 Header

Hi guys,

For space reasons I’m using the additional header on an old Pi Model B Rev 2:
http://elinux.org/RPi_Low-level_peripherals#P5_header

I thought I was being really clever in maximising the use of my old board by adding a screen and a shiny new case, but now I realise than Blynk can’t write to anything above GPIO27 (P5 uses GPIO28-31).

Can I create some sort of re-route through a Virtual pin instead? If not, can these be added in?

As I am still learning how to use my own Model B Rev 2 (with stock headers) I will not be able to provide programming help (on the RPi). But I can confirm that it is unlikely Blynk will add more direct pin access.

That said, it would be completely unnecessary, thanks to virtual pins. Think of them as variables for hardware (pressing button using virtual pin Vx activates program function Vx which activates/deactivates as many physical pins as needed).

Convert your sketch to use virtual pins between app and sketch, and program the sketch to access all of the hardware pins that you have/need.

Here is an example code the @Costas gave me… it shows virtual pins being used to display data on app and use button to toggle a relay on a GPIO.

This is of course providing that you are using the NODE method of Blynk connection… if you are using wiringPI, then that uses a different type of code, that I am even less familiar with (i.e… have no examples to learn from).

var Blynk = require('blynk-library');
var AUTH = '9ae42d15xxxxxxxxxxda5832f1';
var blynk = new Blynk.Blynk(AUTH, options = {
 connector : new Blynk.TcpClient()
});
var v1 = new blynk.VirtualPin(1);  // Button widget
var v9 = new blynk.VirtualPin(9);  // Display widget
v1.on('write', function(param) {
 console.log('V1:', param[0]);
});
v9.on('read', function() {
 v9.write(new Date().getSeconds());  // sends out seconds count to display widget
});
var Gpio = require('/usr/local/lib/node_modules/onoff').Gpio,